2017 New Zealand Ski Season Dates

Each ski field has its own season, dictated by the snow conditions and the staffing. These are the most up-to-date 2017 New Zealand ski season dates, which may change depending on snow conditions.

In general, the ski season runs from mid-June to mid-October, though this may vary widely depending on the ski field.

Keep an eye on this page for updates to the ski fields that have not yet announced their dates.

South Island


Cardrona Alpine Resort

Opening date: June 10th

Closing date: October 15th

Treble Cone

Opening date: June 22nd

Closing date: October 1st


The Remarkables

Opening date: June 10th

Coronet Peak

Opening date: June 17th


Mt Hutt

Opening date: June 9th

Mt Dobson

Dates TBA

Mt Lyford

Dates TBA

Mt Ohau

Dates TBA (previous dates were June 28th – October 5th)


Opening date: Late June

Closing date: Early October


Opening date: July 1st

Closing date: September 17th

Broken River

Dates TBA (previous dates were June 25th – early October)


Dates TBA

Mt Cheeseman

Opening date: July 8th

Mt Olympus

Opening date: TBA

Fox Peak

Opening date: June/July (depending on snow)

Closing date: October (depending on snow)

Nelson Lakes

Rainbow Ski Area

Opening date: Mid-July

Closing date: Mid-October

Hanmer Springs

Hanmer Springs Ski Area

Dates TBA

Arthurs Pass

Temple Basin

Opening date: July (depending on snow)

Closing date: September (depending on snow)

North Island

Mt Ruapehu

Happy Valley

Opening date: June 3rd

Closing date: October 23rd


Opening date: June 10th

Closing date: October 23rd


Opening date: July 1st

Closing date: October 23rd



Most ski fields with set opening and closing dates have snowmaking capabilities to guarantee good snow cover even when the conditions are not perfect. However, even these cannot create snow when the weather is too warm.

Keep an eye on this page for future updates, especially as the ski season approaches!